top of page

"What Should I Wear?"


One of the first questions people ask when scheduling any type of session is, "What should I wear?" The best answer to this question is to wear something that makes you feel comfortable and confident, and maybe sometimes, a little sexy. What you wear determines the type of photos you are going to receive and also sets the vibe for your entire session.


There is a hard stigma in the world of photography that when taking professional portraits your outfits have to be styled perfectly or you have to go out and by a whole new outfit. This is NOT always true. Sometimes the most beautiful pictures are taken in an old pair of blue jeans and your favorite top. My point here is that no matter what you wear, if you feel beautiful and confident, you will shine in your portraits.


One of the main outfit conflicts people have is the Dress vs. Pants conflict. Personally, I vote dress every time (extra votes for dresses that flow!) Dresses are so versatile and fun during sessions and open up a wide variety of poses. Spinning, jumping, and running around just looks so much more flawless and beautiful in a dress! Now don't get me wrong I am a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl myself, but on occasion I do like to get prettied up and strut around in a cute sundress. Like I said before, what you wear to your session totally depends on what you feel comfortable in but, what better excuse is there to bust out an adorable summer dress!


Dressing for your session also depends on your personality. Stick with what you love because that is what you are going to be most comfortable in. With that said, do not be afraid to step out of your comfort zone a bit. We all have that one dress or outfit in our closet that we love but have never worn because we don't know what to wear it to, am I right? So why not break out that beauty for your session! My point in writing this is to show you that there is no right or wrong answer as to what you should wear to your session. I have three rules that I give to my clients when they are deciding what to wear to their session...

1. BE CONFIDENT.

2. FEEL BEAUTIFUL.

3. BE YOU!


Don't be afraid to get creative and bring multiple choices! Now go dig through your wardrobe and find what you love! I can't wait to work with you!



(Scroll down to see why I recommend dresses...)










52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page