top of page

The Girl Behind the Camera

My name is Raquel Weatherley and I am a local Las Cruces, NM, photographer. I am new to this whole blogging thing but thank you guys for taking the time to read a bit about how I started as a photographer and just about me as a person.


I have never considered myself to be the 'artistic' or 'creative' type, in fact, in high school, art and ceramics were my worst subject. I could barley draw a stick figure let alone the landscapes we were required to draw and the figures that we had to mold from clay. Needless to say, I absolutely hated those classes. I never had time to be creative anyway. I was always playing volleyball, at a rodeo, or helping my family at our cattle ranch. Now, I still don't consider myself to be artistic, but through photography I have found my creative outlet. I love coming up with new ideas for clients and exploring new locations.


I picked up a camera for the first time my last year of high school. My boyfriend was in need of senior pictures and my mom had a camera she was going to let me borrow. We came up with all these ideas and one Saturday morning we went and found a spot on the river and took some photos. Now when I say some, I mean about nine hundred. I got a little carried away! Since then I have been taking pictures non stop and I absolutely love it. I officially started my business last August and I am so blessed for the opportunities I have had and the people I have had the pleasure of meeting. I hope to meet and work with many more of you.


I've had a few questions lately on where I draw inspiration from. Let me tell you there is many, many things. I am inspired by a variety of people, places, and cultures, but the vibes of the west and the cowboy heritage are apparent in my images. I was raised around horses and ranching and still compete as a barrel racer for the NMSU Rodeo Team. Capturing images that showcase the western lifestyle and the raw emotions of those who live it is my ultimate goal as a photographer. I strive to serve my clients in the best way possible, by creating timeless and beautiful images that will be admired for years to come.


Thank you all for following me on this journey. There is a long road of learning and new experiences ahead and I am excited for the ride!



64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page